This Institutional Efficiency Committee (IEC) serves as an advisory and decision-making hub primarily focused on student-performance improvement and sound operations. The present membership agreed that HU’s self-study should serve as the next milestone for the University’s on-going examination of operations. Therefore, the IEC membership (n=24) operates as the self-study steering committee. Nine working groups (Figure 1) will begin the process of reviewing the standards, compliance verification criteria, and existing university documentation to assess the extent to which Harrisburg University is meeting the group’s assigned standard and requirements of reaffirmation. The seven working groups align with the MSCHE standards; an eighth working group is responsible for preparing the federal compliance verification report. Following the MSCHE October 2019 Self-Study Design Workshop, the University added a ninth working group to manage the communication process and the collection of evidence as an on-going component of the IEC.


Each work group is led by co-chairs who, combined, have the institutional knowledge and subject-matter expertise needed to study and address   the assigned standard, as well as having demonstrated the capacity to be collaborative leaders. Nominations and self-nominations from across the administration, faculty, and staff decided the make-up of each working group. The nomination process emphasized a balance between the newer and more senior personnel across faculty, staff, and administration. To promote collaboration and transparency in the self-study process, supervisors are not assigned to a work group that includes one of their direct reports.  In several instances current students will be asked to contribute to work groups as appropriate. Co-chairs organize the group’s work, represent the group as needed, and adhere to the guidelines outlined below in Figure 3. Tables 4 and 5 list the committee members as of 03.31.2020.